Nacho Average Love Story

tumblr_mvglcdWf8a1rlh82po1_500

Hey everyone!

I’m sure you’re all aware of the recent obsession in the white girl world with the book by John Green, The Fault in Our Stars. I haven’t got a chance to read it but I have seen the movie (those of you who strongly believe that I HAVE TO read the book before watching the movie can screw off; I do what I please). In my opinion watching the movie before reading the book it is based on helps you to enjoy it more. You don’t sit there in the movie theater and notice every single thing the script writer didn’t include from the book, the actors didn’t say or judge the way the whole movie was directed. Nothing is more frustrating than getting beyond disappointed with the movie after you have already built this picture perfect world of the book you read in your head. On that note I would like to share my thoughts on The Fault in Our Stars. I’m going to try and not give away any spoilers but don’t get mad a me if I accidentally blurt out something you would prefer not to know (you’ve been warned).

First of all, I knew the movie was going to be sad and prepared to cry a lot. I also happened to be one of those people who can’t help but get teary eyes during any cute/sad/happy moment in the movie. The Fault in Our Stars focuses on an extraordinary breathtaking love story of two kids with cancer. It left me quite heartbroken but thankful at the same time. Thankful for everyone I’m lucky to have in my life.

Two main characters, Hazel Grace Lancaster and Augustus Waters, have been both struggling with cancer since they were in their early teens. They’re different; Hazel is quiet and likes to keep her world to herself where Augustus makes everyone around him happy by just being there and expressing whatever hullabaloo goes on in his head. He’s an open book and she’s a diary with a lock and a secret key to it. Augustus is open, straight forwarded and honest. He makes Hazel smile without really trying, and that’s when you know they’re meant to fall in love. And they do, slowly and then all at once. Their love story is short yet so passionate. It will leave you mad, crying and speechless. Most of all it will make you appreciate your life and the people you care for so deeply. It will make you think twice before you’re rude to to people you love even if they make you angry and realize how insignificant your argument is. It will remind you how beautiful the world we live in is yet how cruel it can be to those who don’t deserve any pain. The Fault in Our Stars in definitely a must watch. You might think it’s a cliche love story but it’s not. It has so much more meaning to it; it sends a message but you’d have to figure out for yourself what that message is.

Before I sign off I would like to share my favorite The Fault in Our Stars Quote quote:

“What else? She is so beautiful. You don’t get tired of looking at her. You never worry if she is smarter than you: You know she is. She is funny without ever being mean. I love her. I am so lucky to love her, Van Houten. You don’t get to choose if you get hurt in this world, old man, but you do have some say in who hurts you. I like my choices. I hope she likes hers.”
John Green, The Fault in Our Stars.

If you have seen the movie/read the book comment your thoughts about it on this post, okay? Okay.

the_fault_in_our_stars___quotes_by_blossomdream-d64qt5d

Cheers,

Kate

Leave a Reply

